Train journey with the world famous Glacier Express

The train journey of the Glacier Express is world famous, just like that of the Bernina Express. There are different nationalities on board. The Swiss railway company Rhaetian Railway operates part of this route. The other part is paid by the railway company Matterhorn Gotthard Bahn. The journey starts from Sankt Moritz or Davos Platz – both places are in the canton of Graubünden – to Zermatt in the canton of Valais. A train journey with the Glacier Express takes eight hours. This is the case if one rides along for the entire ride. During those eight hours, train passengers see different landscapes pass them by. It is also possible to travel part of the route.


  • Rhaetian Railway Company
  • World famous train journey with the Glacier Express
  • Trains
  • Panoramic carriages
  • Dining car
  • Information during the trip
  • The route
  • World Heritage
  • Height difference
  • Best time to travel
  • Zermatt (1604 m.ü.M)
  • Andermatt (1435 m.ü.M.)
  • Oberalp Pass (2033 m.ü.M)
  • Rheinschlucht (630 m.Ü.M.)
  • Landwasser viaduct (1032 m.ü.M.)
  • Davos (1540 m.ü.M.)
  • Sankt Moritz (1775 m.ü.M.)


Rhaetian Railway Company

This railway company was founded in 1888 by the Dutchman Willem-Jan Holsboer. At first the company had a different name, but since 1895 the name Rhaetian Railway has been used. The trains are red and are also called the little rote . The trains run in the Swiss canton of Graubünden. The head office is in Chur. In addition to the Glacier Express, the Bernina Express also falls under the Rhaetian Railway.

World famous train journey with the Glacier Express

The Glacier Express is the slowest express train in the world.” Yet the train covers the entire route in about 8 hours. There are three places to board. These three places are:

  • Davos Platz
  • St. Moritz
  • Zermatt with Matterhorn / Source: ©sodrafZermatt

The places Davos Platz and Sankt Moritz are located in the canton of Graubünden and Zermatt – known for the Matterhorn – is located in the canton of Valais. The route is operated by the Rhaetian Railway (RhB) from Sankt Moritz/Davos Platz to Disentis . Then it is the turn of the railway company Matterhorn Gotthard Bahn (MGB) . The route is operated in both winter and summer.


The first trains of the Glacier Express ran in 1930. It is true that the trains have been modernized over time. In winter there is often only one train per day. This starts in Zermatt or in Sankt Moritz. Several trains depart in the summer. It is therefore possible to board at Davos Platz. The exact departure times can be found on the Rhaetian Bahn website.

Panoramic carriages

All Glacier Express trains have air-conditioned 1st and 2nd class panoramic carriages. From these wagons

Related Posts

© 2023 Perbedaannya.Com