Examples Complete Metamorphosis in animal

Examples Complete Metamorphosis in animal
Complete metamorphosis is an animal that undergoes 4 development cycles before becoming an adult. Starting from the egg, larva, pupa and finally adult stages. In their development towards adulthood, animals experience changes in body shape, appearance and different behavior.

The word metamorphosis in the Big Indonesian Dictionary (KBBI) is defined as a change in shape or structure. In short, metamorphosis is a change in shape that occurs in animals during postembryonic development.

Definition of Complete Metamorphosis

Organisms that experience a complete life cycle are known as “holometabolous,” which comes from the Greek words “holo” for “complete ,” “ meta” for “change ,” and the noun “bole” for “to throw.” Therefore, the process of complete development is also called holometabolic.

Quoting from Gurusains.com , referring to the Biology dictionary, it is defined as changes in anatomical and physiological forms through a series of life stages. This occurs in animals, especially insects, including the egg, larva, pupa and adult stages.

The characteristics of animals undergoing complete metamorphosis can be seen from changes in body shape that are not the same. Examples can be seen from the development of butterflies, mosquitoes, frogs and the like.

Example of Complete Metamorphosis

To make it easier to understand the process, here are examples of animals that undergo complete metamorphosis, quoted from various sources, one of which is Goodnewsfromindonesia.id :

1. Butterfly

Butterflies are animals that we often encounter in flowers that have nectar as their main food. The change in the shape of the butterfly looks different so it is said to be perfect. The metamorphosis process starts from an egg, turning into a caterpillar, then a chrysalis and finally an adult butterfly.

2. Frog

Frogs fall into the category of complete metamorphosis, which can be seen from the different shapes of tadpoles and adult frogs. The process starts from the egg turning into a tadpole without legs to having legs, then a young frog and finally an adult frog.

3. Mosquitoes

The next example of complete metamorphosis occurs in mosquitoes. Even though mosquitoes like to fly, mosquito parents will deposit their eggs on the surface of calm water. Therefore, we must often clean the bathtub so that there are no mosquito eggs.

Metamorphosis in mosquitoes begins with an egg, after hatching it turns into a larva. Then the larvae adapt to looking for food to become pupae. The larval phase is complete, then there is the pupal phase and finally the adult phase.

4. Ants

Ant Metamorphosis (Doyanblog.com)

Ants undergo metamorphosis starting from eggs and then hatching into larvae which takes 6 to 12 days. After being fed, they enter the pupa stage, this phase takes different time depending on the type. The time range needed is 9-30 days until they finally become adult ants.

5. Puthul

Puthul’s Metamorphosis (Goodnewsfromindonesia.id)

Puthul is a type of insect that looks similar to a beetle and has the Latin name Phyllophaga helleri. Puthul is quite hated by farmers because it often attacks rice roots. The metamorphosis process starts from egg, larva, pupa until finally it becomes an adult insect.

6. Bees

Metamorphosis of Bees (Pengertianku.net)

The sequence of metamorphosis in bees is similar to that of butterflies. Bees start from laying eggs until they hatch into larvae. After that, the larvae will continue to eat within one week and enter the pupal stage.

In the larval stage, bees do not eat until they enter the adult phase. All stages of bee metamorphosis take 21 days or 3 weeks.

Differences in Characteristics of Perfect and Imperfect Metamorphosis

The characteristics of animals that undergo complete metamorphosis are as follows:

  1. There are different shapes between the pupa and imago phases
  2. Definitely going through the pupa or chrysalis phase

Meanwhile, the characteristics of animals that undergo incomplete metamorphosis are as follows:

  1. Experiencing inconspicuous changes in body shape between the nymph and imago phases.
  2. Does not experience a cocoon or pupa phase

It can be concluded that complete metamorphosis is the process of animal development in 4 phases, namely egg, larva, pupa and adult. The most prominent characteristic of this metamorphosis is the change in shape between the pupa and imago phases.

Related Posts

© 2023 Perbedaannya.Com